wellstavernfarm

Happy Thanksgiving

In General Farm News, Heritage Turkeys on November 25, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Thank yous and copious amounts of gratitude go out to our 2009 customers, an elite group of New Englanders who will enjoy their turkeys tomorrow.  I have heard from one customer today that she has her bird in the oven already.

I also have to share with you that I have heard from another customer who shared her cooking experience with our heritage birds on her company’s website: http://farmaid.blogspot.com/2009/11/staff-recipes-roasted-heritage-breed.html  Yes, it is THAT FarmAid.  Great photos, too.  Personally, I can’t wait until I can dig in tomorrow.

I have a couple more turkeys to distribute to local folks, and then we are done until next year with turkey.  Not the raising and caring, but the distribution and eating part.  We still have about 25 birds in our flock who will naturally begin to lay eggs in the next few weeks (they, unlike chickens, lay very seasonally) and we will collect the eggs each day, and deposit them into our cabinet incubator, and hatch out baby turkeys (“poults”) about thirty days later.  We will continuously hatch turkeys now through spring, most likely. 

So, I must deliver a turkey and then rest.  While I drive I reflect on the lovely people that I have met through farming, and small improvements that we could make in the way that we do everyday chores on the farm.  On my return trip from Waltham today, I could not get over how grateful we are that there are turkey customers who appreciate the birds that we raise.  To them, we say “thank you.”

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

